Home About Us WNC Commissioners
WNC Commissioners PDF Print E-mail

Members of the WNC Board are appointed by the Minister for Women, with the normal term of office being two or three years. Each Commissioner is fully committed to equality of opportunity and the principles that underpin this, such as the aims of CEDAW (Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination Against Women) and the Beijing Platform for Action.

Throughout their work, WNC Commissioners take into account the needs of women with multiple identities, particularly in terms of the leading equality strands addressed by the Equality and Human Rights Commission – faith, race, sexuality, disability and age. The collective experience of Commissioners, aims to ensure representation of a cross-section of key women’s interests and diverse communities. The Board together will reflect the views of partners in all nations and regions of the United Kingdom, with specific representation from the devolved nations - Ann Henderson (Scotland), Adele Baumbardt (Wales) and Bronagh Hinds (Northern Ireland). We will also aim to achieve representation of minority groups to better reflect society. Commissioners are responsible for: 

  • establishing the overall strategic direction of the WNC within the policy and resources framework agreed with the responsible Minister;
  • engaging fully in collective considerations of the issues, taking account of the full range of relevant factors including any guidance issued by the sponsor department or the responsible minister;
  • overseeing the delivery of planned results by monitoring performance against agreed strategic objectives;
  • agreeing an Annual Report; and holding an open meeting every two years;
  • bringing in external perspectives and acting as ambassadors for the WNC to the public and other key stakeholders. 

The Board of Commissioners meets four times each year and includes discussion with guest speakers on important topics at the time. Read more about our current commissioners at the biographies page.

RocketTheme Joomla Templates